Sugar, Spice & Everything Nice

While packing the presents, I kept wondering what will I say when I finally meet them… How will they react? Will they like us? What if they refuse to talk to us?
I mean, it will be totally justified if they decide to be fussy.
My heart kept thumping and one question kept my mind busy, “What is the level of that circumstance when one decides to leave a portion of his soul to someone else?”
We finally reached the black gate of “Kashana-e-Anjuman-e-Atfal-o-Naunihal.” The organization is working wonders since decades, located in the heart of Karachi, Pakistan.
It was so quiet and peaceful. Amazing isn’t it? A place with thousands of girls was in complete silence. Then we were moved to their huge living area where I heard some giggles under the TV trolley. Upon going closer, we found three little musketeers reading a comic after school! Each of them came out one by one like kittens of a wandering cat.
With the blink of an eye, the lounge was full with beauties. From nursery kids to college girls, all introduced themselves with their names, schools and their daily routine which specifically included 5 times Salah. It made my heart bigger with pride in knowing how beautifully they were being raised. Even better than our homes.
Each gesture those kids made, melted my heart a little more. Thousands of kids and so well managed and well raised. None of them started a conversation without greeting Salam.
The lounge echoed with beautiful laughter all day long. They would sing, crack jokes, tease each other and most importantly, they were supporting each other like sisters are meant to do. In this very short span of time, they pulled us so close to them. One sat on my lap while the other held my hand like anything. And then there was this one little darling who refused to let go of my dupatta and followed me like a little chick.
All they ever asked for was love! I don’t understand how can a person ever ever ever leave something so beautiful forever? These little darlings would trade anything to get their family life back.
I cannot forget how one of them counted days in front of me telling me it’s been so long since she has seen her mum. When I tried to mingle in some other topics with her she asked, do you have a mum? I said yes. “And dad too?” she asked.
“Yes honey.” I told her.
What she said next, made it difficult for me to hold my tears,
“At least you get to see them, and they see you!” She said with no expressions on her face. And all I could do was give her a hug, I was speechless. These little beautiful packages of strength made me forget what I was going through and I couldn’t say anything but Alhamdulillah for the feeling of being complete, for having them beside me… No matter how old, frail and pale, but they are here with me, they see me and I see them!
I cannot forget the look in her eyes while we were leaving, the little darling had to let go of my dupatta. I knew she didn’t want it to happen. And I had to go.
That’s when I said to myself, if ever in my life I get a chance, I’ll be adopting these little packages of happiness for myself.

13 thoughts on “Sugar, Spice & Everything Nice

  1. very well articulated and moving Rabia.. awesome job !! its unfortunate why our society treats adoption as a taboo and not many can open their hearts and homes to these little souls..time to hug my very own kids a little more

    Like

  2. Hi there! I just came across this post of yours and your blog in general and I couldn’t help but comment and tell you how much I love this! Keep up the great work, I am going to follow you so I can keep up with all your new posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

